Reply To: Mask exemption discrimination

Welcome Forums Vaccinations Mask exemption discrimination Reply To: Mask exemption discrimination

Damian Hackett
Participant

Hi! I am an electrician currently working through an agency. Today 1/7, I entered a job site within a Sydney university, and was told by the onsite builder that I could not enter without a mask. I immediately and respectfully stated that I was exempt. His response was that he didn’t care, and that if I didn’t wear it, I wasn’t coming on site.
I calmly stated that exemptions were in place for a reason, and that he would be discriminating against me if he were to deny me access (disability and discrimination act 1992, section 6 referenced). Still nothing.
I then proceeded to contact his office and go through everything with them, and asked that they please correct this situation so that I may get on with my work.
Still after they contacted him, the onsite builder proceeded to contact the general manager of the electrical company, who then contacted the agency, who then contacted me, telling me that if I didn’t comply, that I would be moved on (this is the short version).
From there, I reiterated that by discriminating against me, and denying me access to do my job based on my inability to wear the mask, that it would be forcing my hand ( without malice or ill will) , and that I would have to pursue civil action.
It continued to go higher, and I next received a call from the director of the agency I am currently employed by, basically saying that their hands are tied and I had to either comply or leave. A further note was mentioned by the electrical company, that they would sent back over 30+ other electricians currently sub-contracted to the electrical company if it did not get resolved.
At this point, I agreed to atleast place the mask on my person when passing through a common area.